Addressing Initial Questions on TPS Expansion

An informal Q&A to start

In case you had been wondering, I was able to take off the entire weekend from the OPM and TPS kerfuffle. Well, at least from writing about it.

On to the update.

Today I’d like to address some questions that have been sent in via Twitter, LinkedIn, email, etc, but to share these questions and my responses with all premium subscribers. On the off chance that you’re just getting introduced to the topic at hand (potential change in rules on OPM markets and notification of change in rules on most of the EdTech market), read my initial coverage, follow-up post, commentary on the politics of the matter, and description of the emerging pushback.

Disclaimer: I’m not a lawyer, yada, yada. I have not included the names of people asking the questions to protect the innocent.

Q. Pure speculation, but are these expanded guidelines nothing more than a shot across the bow of the OPM flotilla?

A. I believe that the intention of the TPS expansion was primarily targeted at OPM companies, but as written it brought most of the EdTech industry in. I don’t think it was a shot across the bow for the OPM flotilla, it was meant to hit the target(s). TPS was the chosen vehicle (now mixed metaphors?).

Subscribe to On EdTech+ to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of On EdTech+ to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In

A subscription gets you:
New content 3-4 times per week
Shared Q&A discussions
More coming soon